Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Ben Considine and Molly Powell shine at Victoria event

Ben Considine © Liam Robertson

HIF Victorian Longboard Titles
presented by City to Surf Mobile Café at Fairhaven

Surfing Victoria
Fairhaven, Victoria Australia
25 - 26 March 2017

Considine and Powell take opening round of HIF Victorian Longboard Titles at Fairhaven

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 26 March, 2017 - Fairhaven, Victoria - Ben Considine and Molly Powell have won the opening rounds of the HIF Victorian Longboard Titles today as the area's best longboarders came out in force.
Competitors were greeted with clean conditions and a pulsing swell, however the straight sand banks at Fairhaven provided tricky conditions for the top longboarders in the state.
Traditionally known for his dominance in the Logger divisions, Ben Consdine proved today he has the ability in both the Logger and Longboard divisions winning the Open Men’s with a heat total of 16.17 points.
“I have stared doing a few LQS events (World Longboard Qualifying Series) and I wanted to get a bit more experience in the Longboard area” said Considine. “It was super tricky out there and I changed my strategy after the Logger final. I’m stoked it turned out well.”
Placing in second was Will Cousins (Torquay) who had an excellent 8.03 ride however could only find a 5.67 back up wave. Andrew Burgan (Phillip Island) finished in third on 10.33 points with Liam Griggs-Kennelly (Aireys Inlet) in fourth on 9.56 points.
The Open Women was once again dominated by perennial champion Molly Powell. Powell with a heat total of 12.57. “It was great to have some clean and powerful surf today. I had a heap of fun in the water and it was awesome to surf with all the girls.”
Placing in second was Angela King (Torquay) on 9.73 points. Melanie Renton (Ocean Grove) placed third on 6.86 with Eglantine Balland (Edithvale) on 6.34 points.
One of the biggest standouts on the day was Greg Brown (Jan Juc). A multiple Australian Champion, Brown was dominant across multiple divisions including Over 35 Men, Over 50 Men and Over 40 Men Loggers.
Other divisional winners included Luke Lalor (Open Logger, Apollo Bay), Melanie Renton (Over 35 Women), Michael Pinny (Pt Lonsdale, Over 40 Men), Liam McCafferty (Over 45 Men, McCrae), Brian Kuit (Over 55 Men, Torquay), Grayme Galbraith (Jan Juc, Over 60 Men) and Phill Trigger (Pt Leo, Over 65 Men).

Liam Robertson

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter