Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Billabong Oz Grom Cup blisters into the final rounds

Lennix Smith © Ethan Smith / Surfing NSW



Billabong Oz Grom Cup

Surfing NSW
Park Beach, Coffs Harbour, Australia
18 - 22 April, 2017

Grom Cup saw its second perfect score locked in today

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 20 April, 2017 - The Billabong Oz Grom Cup saw another day of giant scores as the event tore through the third day of competition.

The event saw its second perfect score locked in today, as Lennix Smith (Barrack Point, NSW) demolished a handful of waves in the 12-and-Under Boys. Smith surfed well beyond his years in the heat, nailing the perfect ten-point ride and accompanying it with an excellent 8.50 to form an 18.50 two wave combination (out of a possible 20 points).

Joel Buxton (Buff Point, NSW) and Taj Watson (Coffs Harbour, NSW) both dominated the 16-and-Under Boys division, posting heat totals in excess 16.50 for an eclectic mix of massive turns. Both surfers will make their appearance in the third round tomorrow.

Jack O’Brien (Lennox Head, NSW) and Grayson Hinrichs (Bondi, NSW) both continued their highlight reel performances in the 14-and-Boys posting excellent wave scores in the mid-nine-point range.

Amelie Bourke (Merewether, NSW), Charli Hurst (Port Kembla, NSW) and Ellia Smith (Coolum Beach, Qld) all claimed respective wins in the 14-and-Under Girls to earn a position into tomorrow’s quarterfinals.

The event will run through to the semi-finals tomorrow and wrap up on Saturday.

The Billabong Oz Grom Cup presented by Flight Centre will commence each day at 7:00 am with the call for the day's schedule and location confirmed via the event hotline at 6:20 am. The event hotline number is 0458 247 212 which will leave a voice recorded message each morning of the event.

The prestigious five-day event – now in its fourth year – will run from the 18th – 22nd April and is catering for over 200 competitors in nine different divisions.

Former champions include current World Junior Champion Macy Callaghan who claimed her respective division in the event's inaugural year. Since then the event has been won by a range of Australia’s best and most promising junior surfers.

Most states are represented with surfers coming from Queensland, NSW, Victoria and WA.


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter