Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Long-haul grom event wraps up at Cronulla in Sydney



Woolworths Surfer Groms Comp

Oceanna Rogers, Taj Simon, Tyla Hurst and Fletcher Kelleher shine bright

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 16 October, 2017 - The Woolworths Surfer Groms Comp presented by Wahu at Cronulla saw a day of impressive performances in less than ideal conditions today as event two on the series wrapped up in tiny one-foot surf.

After numerous final appearances and standout performances, Taj Simon (Port Kembla) was able to nab himself an Under-14 Boys title. Simon showed effortless flow in the final to knock out an array of turns and take the win in the relatively low-scoring affair. Local goofy-footer Kalani Van de Polder put up a valiant fight, but fell short of toppling Simon by a 0.5 margin and took the runner-up spot.

Following a runner-up finish at the Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps presented by Wahu on the Northern Beaches, Oceanna Rogers (Shell Cove) was able to go one step further in Cronulla, taking the Under-14 Girls title. Rogers posted an 11.66 heat total to claim the win ahead of fellow south coast surfer Keira Buckpitt (Culburra) who finished in second position.

Fletcher Kelleher (Freshwater) claimed his second Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps presented by Wahu in as many events, taking out the Under-12 Boys division. In the low-scoring affair, Kelleher posted a respectable 12.27 to take the win ahead of Central Coast surfer Isaak Brown (Lake Munmorah).

Tyla Hurst (Port Kembla) ensured to titles would be heading back to Port Kembla when she took out the Under-12 Girls. Hurst took dual wins across both finals to end up on the top spot of the leaderboard and take the overall title.
All other results are listed below.
The main base for event two of the event Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps presented by Wahu was North Cronulla with backup locations of Wanda, Elouera, South Cronulla and Sandshoes.
Regarded as one of the major stepping stones in the development of young Australian surfers, the 10-event Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps presented by Wahu caters for surfers from Under 8 to Under 14 and will be held in New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia and South Australia over summer. The prestigious event series will also return to Tasmania in 2017/18.
As an added bonus, the respective winners of the Under 14 boys’ and girls’ divisions from each event will receive an invite to attend an all-expenses paid, three-day Woolworths Surf Camp at the Hurley Surfing Australia High-Performance Centre (HPC). For the South Australian, Victorian and Tasmanian events, the Woolworths Surf Camp prize will be awarded to the highest place Under-14 Boy and Girl who reside in that respective State.
Each entrant will also receive a Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps presented by Wahu t-shirt for entering, plus a Wahu beach product and there will be plenty of Wahu beach games and giveaways at each event.
The Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps presented by Wahu have helped to launch the careers of many of Australia's most promising junior surfers with almost 800 children set to take part in the 2017/18 event series.
Previous champions include Matt Banting, Jacob Willcox, Luke Hynd, Eli Steele, Kai Hing, Chris Zaffis, Quinn Bruce, Ellie-Jean Coffey, Macy Callaghan, Isabella Nichols, Holly Wawn and Laura Poncini.

Under-14 Boys
1 – Taj Simon (Port Kembla)
2 – Kalani Van de Polder (Cronulla)
3 – Koda Killorn (Maroubra)
4 – Nate Hopkins  (Noraville)

Under-14 Girls
1 – Oceanna Rogers (Shell Cove)
2 – Keira Buckpitt (Culburra)
3 – Holly Wishart (Gerringong)
4 – Gabi Spake (Collaroy)

Under-12 Boys
1 – Fletcher Kelleher (Freshwater)
2 – Issak Brown (Lake Munmorah)
3 – Dane Dujic (Avalon)
4 – Jack MacDonald (Freshwater)

Under-12 Girls
1 – Tyla Hurst (Port Kembla)
2 – Tiana Darragh (Malabar)
3 – Bronte Herft (Gerringong)
4 – Jada Thomas (Barrack Point)
5 – Zoe O’Sullivan (Woonoona)

Under-10 Boys
1 – Kash Brown (Cronulla)
2 – Ocean Lancaster (Merewether)
3 – Joe Hatton (Bronte)
4 – Ben Zanatta Creagh (Dee Why)

Under-10 Girls
1 – Ruby Trew (Seaforth)
2 – Evie Fisher (Gymea Bay)

Under-8 Mixed
1 – Lucy Darragh (Malabar)
2 – Jett Blue (Thirroul)
3 – Macy MacDonald (Freshwater)


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter