Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Meo Rip Curl Pro Portugal called ON

World No.1 John John Florence © WSL / Poullenot






Meo Ripcurl Pro Portugal

World Surf League Men's CT event
Supertubos, Peniche, Portugal
18 - 30 October, 2016

Medina, currently world No. 2 now sits just 2,700 points behind Florence

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 18 October, 2016 - The world’s best surfers have arrived in Peniche, Portugal for the final European stop of the 2016 Samsung Galaxy WSL Championship Tour, the Meo Rip Curl Pro Portugal, which holds a competitive window starting tomorrow, October 18, and runs until October 29, 2016.

"It's really fun out there, we have four foot peaks up and down the beach with little barrels and the guys are ripping so we're going to get going at 8:05am," Travis Logie, Deputy Commissioner said. "We'll monitor conditions throughout the day cause the tide is going to drop and there might be a little dip in swell before the next one fills in, but we have put Round 2 on standby as well and are hoping for a full day of great surfing."
First to compete will be former event winners Julian Wilson (AUS) (2012) and Kai Otton (AUS) (2013) alongside Nat Young (USA) in the opening heat of Round 1.
Surfline, official forecast partner of the WSL, are calling for:

SW/WSW swell will fade on Tuesday as new, long period W swell from Hurricane Nicole begins to filter in. W swell offers fun surf for the middle and second half of the week with generally light winds and favorable conditions. An active North Atlantic provides the potential for stronger NW/WNW windswell/swell for the weekend and into the early/middle part of next week but local winds and conditions look unfavorable for Supertubos at this point.

Meo Rip Curl Pro Portugal Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Julian Wilson (AUS), Nat Young (USA), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 2: Kolohe Andino (USA), Keanu Asing (HAW), Alex Ribeiro (BRA)
Heat 3: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 4: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) Miguel Pupo (BRA), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Heat 5: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Conner Coffin (USA), Frederico Morais (PRT)
Heat 6: John John Florence (HAW), Jadson Andre (BRA), Miguel Blanco (PRT)
Heat 7: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA), Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS)
Heat 9: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Josh Kerr (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 10: Adriano De Souza (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Heat 11: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF), Davey Cathels (AUS)
Heat 12: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Dusty Payne (HAW)

Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter